Awards 2016

Awards 2016

The 2016 Recognition Awards were presented to winning projects and individuals as part of the SMN National Event which took place at the Trades Hall in Glasgow on Thursday 17th November 2016.

The Project of the Year 2016 was presented to Lochaber Hope, a long standing, inclusive service for all age groups which has recently expanded access to more youth mentors.

Category Award Winners:

Special Award for the Advancement of Mentoring was awarded to YMCA Scotland for its Plusone Mentoring franchise.

Project Certificates:

Individual Recognition Awards:

  • Outstanding Employee Contribution to Mentoring Award: Jillian Law, YMCA Scotland
  • Outstanding Employee Contribution to Mentoring Award: Paul McIlvenny, Youth Scotland
  • Outstanding Employee Contribution to Mentoring Award: Shug McRoberts, Move On
  • Outstanding Mentor Contribution to Mentoring Award: Danny McCrone, Move On 

Highly Commended Staff Member certificates were awarded to: 

  • Michael Fong, LinkLiving Ltd, SmartLiving
  • Debbie Gavan, Covey - Pathways to Confidence        
  • Audrey Mason, Cultural Enterprise Office - Flourish Mentoring
  • Callum McCrosson, The National Autistic Society Scotland-Moving
  • Andrea MacDonald, Lochaber Hope
  • Marie McGill, City of Glasgow College-Interior Design Mentorship
  • Joyce McQuilken, GrowBiz Enterprise Mentoring
  • Marianne Sellars, Move On, Edinburgh - Volunteer Mentoring
  • Karen Shearer, University of the West of Scotland - Employer Mentoring

Highly Commended Mentors:

  • Norma Green, Lochaber Hope
  • Steven McKinstry, Move On, Edinburgh-Volunteer Mentoring
  • Merle Palmer, Growbiz Enterprise Mentoring
  • FIona Smyth, Cultural Enterprise Office, Flourish Mentoring

Commended Mentors:

  • Ayrshire College-Peer Mentoring: Thomas Graham

  • City of Glasgow College-Interior Design Mentorship: Ana Christobal; Nicola Gourlay, Lauren Hughes Glass; Fraser Low; Sara Jane Storey.

  •  Cothrom-Mentor Uist and Barra: Lauren Morrison

  • LinkLiving Ltd-SmartLiving: Rebecca Norman

  • Kirkcaldy YMCA Plusone: Stephanie Kenny

  • The National Autistic Society Scotland- Moving Forward: Christina Joint

  • Phoenix Futures—Community of Recovery (Glasgow): Jacqueline Logan

  • Penicuik YMCA-YWCA Plusone: Carol McNeil; Eric Platten

  • Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh-Employer Mentoring: Lynne Ziarelli

  • University of the West of Scotland-Employer Mentoring: Jennifer Allan

  • yipworld Plusone: Kyrstin Cunningham

  • Youth Scotland, U:Mentor: Edward Fitzpatrick 

More information on the award winners can be found in the event round up under the 'Resources' section of our website.